UNIVERSITY COLLEGES SET UP

HIS EXCELLENCY President Daniel arap Moi has directed that six colleges be established within the University of Nairobi, consisting of faculties, institutes, schools and departments, according to a legal notice in yesterday's Kenya Gazette supplement.

These are the Colleges of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences, Biological and Physical Sciences, Health Services, Architecture and Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Adult Education

Under the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences will fall the Faculty of Agriculture and the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

By Frank Ojiambo

Physical Sciences will comprise the Faculty of Science. Preclinical Departments in the Faculties of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine and the Institute of Computer Science.

The College of Health Sciences will comprise the Faculty of Medicine, the Department of Pharmacy. Dentistry and Advanced Nursing, while the College of Architecture and Engineering will comprise the Faculty of Architecture, Design and Development, and Faculty of Engineering.

The college of humanities and Social Sciences, comprising a number of faculties, will consist of the Faculty of Arts, the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Commerce, the Institute for Development Studies, the Popula-

tion Studies and Research Institute, the Institute for African Studies, and the School of Journalism.

The former Institute of Adult Studies will now comprise the newly-created college of Adult and Distance Education.

The President, who is also the Chancellor of the University of Nairobi, announced the establishment of the colleges under the University of Nairobi Act. The notice, dated September 21, 1983, stated that the composition of the colleges may change as "any other faculties, institutes, schools or departments are established by the University council from time to time.

Early last month, a Presidental inspection and visiting committee submitted its finding to the President