## **DEPARTMENT OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCE**

#### **2010/2011 ANNUAL REPORT**

In the academic year 2009/2010, the Dept. of Management Science and members in their individual capacity undertook various academic activities as follows:

# **Departmental Report**

- 1. Hosted and participated in one International Conference, the Operations Research Society of East Africa, in Nairobi, Kenya.
- 2. Hosted one Visiting Professor from Sweden for five months
- 3. Initiated collaboration initiatives with the University of Gothenburg, Sweden.
- 4. Increased enrollment.

## **Individual Member Reports**

	Name	Designation	Journal	Conference	Books/	Book	Conferences	Other Achievements
			Articles	Papers/	Manuals	Chapters	Attended	
				Proceedings				
1.	Dr. M. Njihia	Sen. Lecturer	2	1	-	1	3	1 Article under review, promoted to Sen. Lecturer. Conducted 3 training seminars in Project Management abroad.
2.	Dr.K. Litondo	Lecturer	-	-	-	-	2	2 Journal Articles in Progress
3.	Dr. W. Iraki	Lecturer	2	1	1	-	1	
4.	E. O. Akelo	Lecturer	-	-	1		2	
5.	S.O. Nyamwange	Lecturer	-	2	-	-	2	Chaired AIBUMA/ORSEA Conference Committees.
6.	L. M. Mulwa	Tut. Fellow	-	-	2	-	2	
7.	J.K. Lelei	Lecturer	-	-	1	-	2	
8.	Dr. O.Okwiri	Lecturer	1	1	1	-	2	Promoted to Lecturer
9.	C. N. Kariuki	Lecturer	-	-	1	-	2	Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies
10	M. Mwangi	Tut. Fellow	-	2	1	-	2	

11	S.O. Odock	Lecturer	-	-	1	-	2	
12	A.N. Karwega	Tut. Fellow	-	-	2	-	2	
13	J.T. Kariuki	Lecturer	-	-	-	-	2	
14	P.O. Magutu	Tut. Fellow	2	3	-	1	2	Committee Member, AIBUMA/ORSEA
15	G. Ondiek	Lecturer	-	2	1	-	2	
16	T. Kongere	Lecturer	-	-	-	-	-	
17	M. Chirchir	Lecturer	-	-	3	-	2	
18	T. Ombati	Tut. Fellow	2	-	1	-	2	Newly appointed
19	J. Mwanyota	Tut. Fellow	-	-	-	-	-	Newly appointed

The following members are on study leave or on leave of absence:

- 1. Dr. G. Wainaina
- 2. John Kenduiwo
- 3. Julius Kipngetich
- 4. Zipporah Kiruthu
- 5. Michael W. Githii

# DR. MURANGA NJIHIA

Chairman, Dept. of Management Science

MN/bwn