Physics at the University of Nairobi

Kenneth Amiga Kaduki Department of Physics University of Nairobi

Abstract

This paper presents the state of physics education and research at the University of Nairobi. The Department is the largest in Kenya with 32 academic staff and 15 technical staff. We offer three undergraduate programs: B.Sc. (Physics), B.Sc. (Microprocessor Technology and Instrumentation) and B.Sc. (Astronomy and Astrophysics). In addition, the Department offers service courses to the Schools of Engineering, Education, Computing & Informatics and the Faculty of Agriculture. At postgraduate level, we have M.Sc. and Ph.D. in physics under the following thematic areas: Laser Physics and Spectroscopy, Condensed Matter Physics, Applied Electronics, Theoretical Physics, Applied Nuclear & Radiation Physics and Earth & Applied Geophysics. Courses offered at undergraduate and postgraduate levels are highlighted. We report on the research focus and major equipment available for each thematic area as well as research output for the 2012/2013 academic year. Finally, the main financiers of research in the Department and local, regional and international collaborators are highlighted.