Announcement for PhD fellowships 2015/2016

Date and time: Tue, 2015-02-10 14:54

The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) was established in 1988 as a public notfor-profit organization devoted to the advancement of economic policy research and training in Africa. The Consortium's mandate and strategic intent is built on the basis that sustained development in sub-Saharan Africa requires well-trained, locally based professional economists. AERC agitates the provision of capacity building in economic policy in Francophone and Anglophone African countries through provision of support in the areas of policy research and graduate training. AERC wishes to announce the 2015/2016 Ph.D. scholarships for applicants from Francophone and Anglophone sub-Saharan African countries admitted in to any of the following AERC Collaborative PhD Programme (CPP) in Economics degree-awarding universities:

University of Cape Town, South Africa•

University of Witwatersrand, South Africa•

University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania•

University of Nairobi, Kenya•

University of Ibadan, Nigeria•

University of Benin, Nigeria•

University of Yaoundé II, Cameroon•

University of Cocody, Cote d'Ivoire •

Requirements: To qualify, an applicant must: (a) Have applied and been admitted to any one of the listed CPP universities; (b) Have attained at least a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics or related field from an accredited university; (c) Have a Masters Degree (with coursework and thesis component) in Economics, Agricultural Economics or related fields from a recognized University. The coursework should have covered microeconomics, macroeconomics and quantitative methods; (d) Female and applicants from post-conflict and fragile states are encouraged to apply. (e) Possession of at least 1 relevant

publication in a refereed journal will be an added advantage. (f) Evidence of engagement in economic management, research and/or training in the public sector will be an added advantage.

Interested candidates must submit their applications for admission directly to the respective universities (application procedure can be obtained from the respective universities' websites). Upon receipt of an admission letter from the specific university, the applicant should submit his or her application for scholarship to AERC on training@aercafrica.org and attach a copy of the admission letter. In addition, candidates should attach their curriculum vitae and certified copies of their academic certificates and transcripts. The deadline for applying for the scholarship is July 15, 2015. For more information on AERC, please visit our website on: www.aercafrica.org