Department of Commercial Law



The Department of Commercial Law is the largest Department at the University of Nairobiøs School of Law in terms of human resources. It has 14 lecturers, two of whom are currently pursuing doctoral studies in the UK and in South Africa; two secretaries and support staff. The lecturers teach research and supervise students as well as engage in community service on the course units offered at the School, and especially on commercial law subjects. Many of the lecturers have been appointed by the Government as chairs, commissioners or consultants to assist in governmental departments, duties and Task Forces. Below are some of the lecturers appointed;

Dr. Elizabeth Muli has been appointed a member of the commission for the implementation of the new constitution, Ms Florence Simbiri-Jaoko is a commissioner in the Kenya National Commission of Human Rights (KNCHR); Mr Wambua Musili served on the Task Force on Maritime Law; Ms Wanza Kioko was on the Committee of Eminent Persons on the Review of the Constitution; and Ms Eunice Gichangi served as a Programme Officer in the Constitution of Kenya Review Commission (CKRC).

Other academic members of staff are engaged in litigation, arbitration, conveyancing and other forms of legal practice, thereby giving students practical skills and opportunities for pupilage.

The current chair was appointed in February 2011 and has worked with the College and the School to reorganize teaching, research, supervision, community service among others. The Department has now secured ICT teaching aids as well as furniture for a board room, thereby developing a collegial atmosphere in the Department.

The Schooløs Examination Committee is chaired by the Chair of Department and is also located in the Department. Lecturers from the Department as well as from the Departments of Private

and of Public Law work closely in consultation with the Deanøs office and the School Board (of Examiners). The Committee has helped streamline exam processing and enhance the integrity of exams in the School.

Members have initiated links in Intellectual Property (IP) and Commercial Law with organizations such as the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO), the World Trade Organisation (WTO) as well as several law schools in the US, Europe, Africa and elsewhere.

We work closely with the following agencies to mentor students academically, professionally, in public debates, in sports and in related co-curricular activities: the Deanøs office, Dean of Students, the Special Students Advisor and the Student Welfare Authority (SWA), especially the Students Management Unit (SMU), as well as students associations or unions like Students Organisation of Nairobi University (SONU) and Kenya Law Students Society (KLSS), among others.

Ms Eunice Gichangi coordinates the Schools Common and Service courses thus facilitating the Schools role in teaching law in other Departments of the University; while Mr William Musyoka coordinates the Parallel Law Degree Programme (PLDP) in the School.

The Department has professional secretaries in Mrs Jane Ogolla and Mrs Florence Kabutha. They provide an important interface with students, visitors and other customers or stakeholders.