Trip to University of Pretoria, South Africa

Date and time: Mon, 2013-07-29 09:46 Location / Venue:

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Third Semester for Masters Students in the Department of Agricultural Economics is underway. MSc in AICM students are taught at Chiromo Campus. MSc in CMAAE students who were not selected to go to the University of Pretoria, South Africa are enrolled for the following courses:

- 1. Agricultural Policy and Trade (7 students)
- 2. Agricultural and Rural Development (2 students)
- 3. Agricultural Marketing and Price Analysis (8 students)
- 4. Quantitative Analysis of Agricultural Policy/Gender and Economic Development (4 students)
- 5. Farming systems and sustainable livelihoods (1 student)
- 6. Project Planning and Management (4 students)
- 7. Gender and Economic Development (1 student)

It is recommended that a cluster with 2 or 1 student be dropped and the students be advised to select another cluster.

The following MSc Agricultural and Applied Economics 2012-2013 students have been selected to proceed to University of Pretoria, South Africa, based on the threshold of 15 students per university (Table 1).

NO.	REG. NO.	NAME	NATIONALITY
1.	A56/83294/2013	Humphrey Washington Emuria	Kenyan
2.	A56/82231/2012	Caroline Wanjiru Githiomi	Kenyan
3.	A56/78972/2012	Lydia Nyakio Kabugua	Kenyan
4.	A56/81599/2012	Benard Githinji Migwi	Kenyan
5.	A512/60007/2013	Musafili Ildephonse	Rwandan
6.	A512/60013/2013	Davis Muthini	Kenyan
7.	A56/79500/2012	Florine Karuru Mwiti	Kenyan
8.	A512/60012/2013	Charity Ephamia Juma Nabwire	Kenyan
9.	A56/74902/2012	Njuguna Evelyn Wairimu	Kenyan
10.	A56/79552/2012	John Nyagah	Kenyan
11.	A56/80827/2012	Ibrahim Ochenje	Kenyan
12.	A56/81792/2012	Osiemo Jamleck	Kenyan
13.	A512/60010/2012	Zorinah Phuu	Botswana
14.	A512/60008/2013	Tebogo Tlhofaetsi	Botswana
15.	A56/78951/2012	Caroline Waweru Waithera	Kenyan

The Department of Agricultural Economics wishes to appeal to Kenyan students who have just completed their fourth year and wish to join masters to apply for Masters in Agricultural and Applied Economics at the following universities:

- 1. Sokoine University http://www.suanet.ac.tz/
- 2. Bunda College of Agriculture http://buncoalumni.tripod.com/id13.html.
- 3. University of Pretoria: www.up.ac.za/apply
- 4. University of Zimbabwe: http://www.uz.ac.zw/index.php/template-styles/application-form.html.

Admission open until July 12, 2013

The Department of Agricultural Economics will be participating in the curriculum review meeting of the Collaborative Master programme in Agricultural and Applied Economics as reviewer. The meeting takes place at the University of Pretoria, South Africa from 29th July to 2nd August 2013. The courses to be reviewed will be those in Cluster 1 (Microeconomics and related), Cluster 2 (Macroeconomics and related), Cluster 3 (Agricultural and Rural Development), Cluster 4 (Agricultural Policy and Trade) Cluster 5 (Agribusiness Management), Cluster 6 (Environment and Natural Resource Management).