Show simple item record

dc.contributor.authorOpiyo-Akech, N
dc.contributor.authorBarongo, J.O
dc.identifier.citationJournal of African Earth Sciences Volume 28, Issue 4, May 1999, Pages 795–803 Earth Science Education in Africaen
dc.description.abstractThe University of Nairobi is currently the only University in Kenya which offers degree level courses in the earth sciences. The Department was founded in 1961, became part of an autonomous University in 1970, awarded its first degrees in 1972 and awarded its first Geology degrees in 1978. The Department currently offers a four-year B.Sc. course - delivered as part of a course unit system - and an M.Sc. programme in Geology. Students are admitted to the University after eight years of primary and four years of secondary schooling. Graduates find employment either in government departments or in the private sector. The Department currently has 15 academic staff who are involved in a variety of research projects. Currently, there are collaborative links with Universities in Germany, Sweden and South Africa.en
dc.titleEarth Science Education In Kenyaen

Files in this item


There are no files associated with this item.

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record